Recommend a 2024 Woman Making Herstory

Selection of next year's honorees has begun! With members selecting the final honoree for their district in mid-February. If you would like to recommend a candidate to be honored as a California Woman Making Herstory in 2024, you may contact your Assembly and Senate representatives.

2023 Women Making HERstory Celebration

On Monday, March 20, 2023, in concurrence with Women's History Month, members of the California legislature each honored a woman from their district as a 2023 California Woman Making Herstory. This title reflects the impact each honoree has made and the value we place on her role within our community. We encourage each of our colleagues to select an honoree who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and achievement, whether in public service, STEM, arts, entrepreneurship, academia, industry, or other capacity to improve the lives of Californians.

Jump to:

2023 Honorees


AD 1 Heather Hadwick AD 41 Devorah Lieberman
AD 2 Jacque Williams AD 42 Amy Bernstein
AD 3 NONE AD 43 Sonia Smith Kang
AD 4 Quirina Orozco AD 44 Jane Viar
AD 5 Laura Didier AD 45 Aisha Little
AD 6 Olivia Kasirye AD 46 Nina Tassler
AD 7 Tanya Kravchuk AD 47 Andis Almasi
AD 8 Naomi Tobias AD 48 Jenica Morin-Pascual
AD 9 Kathryn Siddle AD 49 Gay Q. Yuen
AD 10 Josefina “Josie” Patria AD 50 Annette Chavez
AD 11 Regina Yin AD 51 Abbe Land
AD 12 Joanna Paun AD 52 María Brenes
AD 13 Karen Rickman AD 53 Diane Smyers
AD 14 Michelle Milam AD 54 Connie Chung Joe
AD 15 Lori Sanson AD 55 Lillian Wilson
AD 16 Deanne Pearn AD 56 Grace Wang Caltabiano
AD 17 Jian Qing Zhang AD 57 Sade Elhawary
AD 18 Elaine Brown AD 58 Priscilla Grijalva
AD 19 Alicia Boccellari AD 59 Lina Tullberg
AD 20 Aisha Knowles AD 60 Lizbeth Magallanes
AD 21 Gloria Rhode Brown AD 61 Ahmanise Sanati
AD 22 Rosalinda Vierra AD 62 Maria Mendoza
AD 23 Belinda Hernandez Arriaga AD 63 Gale Webb
AD 24 Connie De Grange AD 64 Priscila Coronado
AD 25 Tamara Mozahuani Alvarado AD 65 Janice Hahn
AD 26 Anne Kepner AD 66 Mia Walsh
AD 27 Stephanie Dietz AD 67 JoAnna Schilling
AD 28 Rosemary Chalmers AD 68 Martha Rivera
AD 29 Jennifer Laine AD 69 Zoe Nicholson
AD 30 Francisca Arroyo Rosales AD 70 Bhikkhuni Elizabeth Vo
AD 31 Genoveva Islas AD 71 Janette Chun
AD 32 Kelly Habroun AD 72 Noella Passarelli
AD 33 Connie Conway AD 73 Shaista Malik
AD 34 Penny Shubnell AD 74 Robbie Calderon Hass
AD 35 Esther Manzano AD 75 Cynthia Elizondo
AD 36 Janette Angulo AD 76 Arcela Nuñez-Alvarez
AD 37 Terri Maus-Nisich AD 77 Carol Kim
AD 38 Lynn Edmonds AD 78 Wilma J. Wooten
AD 39 Aleka Jackson-Jarrell AD 79 Shirley N. Weber
AD 40 Mary MacAdam AD 80 Josephine S. Talamantez


SD 1 Marjeanne Stone
SD 2 Abby Abinanti
SD 3 Linda Cantey
SD 4 Anamika S. Chand
SD 5 Mana Shooshtari
SD 6 Anne Marie Schubert
SD 7 Janet Frazier
SD 8 La Shelle Dozier
SD 9 Lateefah Simon
SD 10 Rona Popal
SD 11 Mary Y. Jung
SD 12 Lisa A. Smittcamp
SD 13 Belinda Hernandez Arriaga
SD 14 Tamara Cobb
SD 15 DeAnna Pursai
SD 16 Lola G. Lerma
SD 17 Celia Moses
SD 18 Martha Zapata
SD 19 Graciela Casillas
SD 20 Maribel Garcia

SD 22 Lizette Salas
SD 23 Barbara Riordan
SD 24 Maryam S. Zar
SD 25 Mary J. Alvord
SD 26 Evelina Fernández
SD 27 Iliana Tavera
SD 28 Karen Bass
SD 29 Kelly Vlahakis-Hanks
SD 30 Mary Su
SD 31 Yolanda Esquivel
SD 32 Bridgette Moore
SD 33 Lucia Veloz
SD 34 Samantha Maria Soto
SD 35 Karen Bass
SD 36 Mai Huynh
SD 37 Kate Wheeler
SD 38 Jennifer Ianoale
SD 39 Toluwalasé (Lasé) A. Ajayi
SD 40 Bari Landry Vaz
Lt. Governor Ebony Ava Harper


Watch the Senate Floor Ceremony

Watch the Assembly Floor Ceremony

Woman of the Year

For information regarding our historical Woman of the Year celebrations and previous honorees, please visit our Woman of the Year page.