Woman of the Year


The Woman of the Year event was founded in 1987 by Assemblywoman Bev Hansen (R) and Assemblywoman Sally Tanner (D), who noticed that the California Legislature had no events planned for the month of March, Women's History Month.  In celebration of the contributions to society made by remarkable women throughout California, Hansen and Tanner arranged to invite one woman from each Senate and Assembly district to come to the Capitol and be honored for their accomplishments.  The women were to be recognized as Woman of the Year in a formal ceremony on the floors of the Senate and Assembly.  This yearly event, sponsored and organized by the Women's Caucus, is greatly anticipated by all Legislators today.



Read about the 2022 Senate Honorees here.

Read about the 2022 Assembly Honorees here.


Past Honorees

For a list of honorees from the Senate, please click here.

For a list of honorees from the Assembly, please click here.