

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 10, 2023

Contacts: Margaret Hanlon-Gradie Margaret.HanlonGradie@sen.ca.gov

> Sulema Landa Sulema.Landa@asm.ca.gov

Legislative Women's Caucus Celebrates Caucus and Committee Leadership Appointments

SACRAMENTO – California Legislative Women's Caucus Chair Senator Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley) and Vice Chair Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D-Winters) have released the following statements regarding the historic number of legislative Committee, Caucus, and house leadership positions now held by its members:

"It's a record-setting year for women in the California Legislature," Senator Skinner said. "Not only did we achieve an all-time mark of women holding 50 seats in both houses of the Legislature, but women now also occupy a record number of leadership positions. In the Senate and Assembly, women now chair more than 30 committees and chair the major Legislative Caucuses: Black, Latino, and LGBTQ. But we are far from being done. The Legislative Women's Caucus remains committed to reaching full parity in the Legislature and to protecting and expanding the rights of women throughout California."

"As the Membership of the Legislative Women's Caucus reaches its highest number in history, I'm very pleased to see so many of my Caucus colleagues appointed to leadership positions. The more seats women have at the table, the more we will affect critical decisions being made in Sacramento. And the more women we have in positions of influence, as we strive toward equal representation in our government, the more every young girl in California will see in their future their own potential to one day change the world," said Assemblymember Aguiar-Curry.

A full list of leadership positions held by LWC members is below.

Senate Committee on Agriculture Senator Melissa Hurtado (D-Bakersfield), Chair Senate Committee on Banking and Financial Institutions Senator Monique Limón (D-Santa Barbara), Chair Senate Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review Senator Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley), Chair



PRESS RELEASE

Senate Committee on Business, Professions, and Economic Development
Senator Janet Nguyen (R-Huntington Beach), Vice-Chair
Senate Committee on Education
Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh (R-Yucaipa), Vice-Chair
Senate Committee on Elections and Constitutional Amendments
Senator Janet Nguyen (R-Huntington Beach), Vice-Chair
Senate Committee on Governance and Finance
Senator Anna M. Caballero (D-Merced), Chair
Senate Committee on Health
Senator Susan Eggman (D-Stockton), Chair
Senator Janet Nguyen (R-Huntington Beach), Vice-Chair
Senate Committee on Housing
Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh (R-Yucaipa), Vice-Chair
Senate Committee on Human Services
Senator Marie Alvarado-Gil (D-Jackson), Chair
Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh (R-Yucaipa), Vice-Chair
Senate Committee on Insurance
Senator Janet Nguyen (R-Huntington Beach), Vice-Chair
Senate Committee on Military and Veterans Affairs
Senator Shannon Grove (R-Bakersfield), Chair
Senate Committee on Public Safety
Senator Aisha Wahab (D-Hayward), Chair
Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh (R-Yucaipa), Vice-Chair
Senate Committee on Rules
Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego), Chair
Senator Shannon Grove (R-Bakersfield), Vice-Chair
Senate Committee on Transportation
Senator Lena A. Gonzalez (D-Long Beach), Chair
Senate Committee on Legislative Ethics
Senator Angelique Ashby (D- Sacramento), Chair
Senator Shannon Grove (R - Bakersfield), Vice-Chair
Senate Assistant Majority Leader
Senator Susan Talamantes Eggman (D-Stockton)
Senate Democratic Caucus Chair
Senator Monique Limón (D-Santa Barbara)
Senate Majority Whip
Senator Lena A. Gonzalez (D-Long Beach)



PRESS RELEASE

Senate Assistant Majority Whip Senator Angelique Ashby (D-Sacramento) Senator María Elena Durazo (D-Los Angeles) Senator Susan Rubio (D-Baldwin Park)

Assembly Committee on Accountability and Administrative Review Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris (D-Irvine), Chair Assemblymember Diane Dixon (R-Newport Beach), Vice Chair Assembly Committee on Aging and Long-Term Care Assemblymember Jasmeet Bains (D-Bakersfield), Chair Assembly Committee on Appropriations Assemblymember Megan Dahle (R-Bieber), Vice Chair Assembly Committee on Arts, Entertainment, Sports, and Tourism Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva (D-Fullerton), Chair Assembly Committee on Budget Subcommittee No. 4 on State Administration Assemblymember Wendy Carrillo (D-Los Angeles), Chair Assembly Committee on Budget Subcommittee No. 5 on Public Safety Assemblymember Mia Bonta (D-Oakland), Chair Assembly Committee on Communications and Conveyance Assemblymember Tasha Boerner Horvath (D-Encinitas), Chair Assembly Committee on Education Assemblymember Megan Dahle (R-Bieber), Vice Chair Assembly Committee on Emergency Management Assemblymember Marie Waldron (R-Valley Center), Vice Chair Assembly Committee on Health Assemblymember Marie Waldron (R-Valley Center), Vice Chair Assembly Committee on Housing and Community Development Assemblymember Buffy Wicks (D-Oakland), Chair Assembly Committee on Human Services Assemblymember Kate Sanchez (R-Orange County), Vice Chair Assembly Committee on Insurance Assemblymember Lisa Calderon (D-Whittier), Chair Assembly Committee on Local Government Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D-Winters), Chair Assemblymember Diane Dixon (D-Newport Beach), Vice Chair Assembly Committee on Military and Veterans Affairs Assemblymember Esmeralda Soria (D-Fresno), Chair Assemblymember Laurie Davies (R-Laguna Niguel), Vice Chair Assembly Committee on Natural Resources Assemblymember Luz Rivas (D-San Fernando Valley), Chair



PRESS RELEASE

Assembly Committee on Public Employment and Retirement Assemblymember Tina McKinnor (D-Inglewood), Chair Assembly Committee on Revenue and Taxation Assemblymember Jacqui Irwin (D-Thousand Oaks), Chair Assembly Committee on Rules Assemblymember Marie Waldron (R-Valley Center), Vice Chair Assembly Committee on Transportation Assemblymember Laura Friedman (D-Glendale), Chair Assembly Committee on Water, Parks, and Wildlife Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D-Orinda), Chair Assembly Committee on Legislative Ethics Assemblymember Akilah Weber (D-San Diego), Co-Chair Assembly Majority Whip Assemblymember Lori D. Wilson (D-Suisun City) Assembly Assistant Speaker pro Tempore Assemblymember Stephanie Nguyen (D-Elk Grove) Assembly Majority Leader Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes (D-Colton) Assistant Majority Whip Assemblymember Pilar Schiavo (D-Chatsworth)

California Latino Legislative Caucus Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes (D-Riverside), Chair Senator Lena Gonzalez (D-Long Beach), Vice Chair California Legislative Black Caucus Assemblymember Lori D. Wilson (D-Suisun City), Chair California Legislative LGBTQ Caucus Senator Susan Talamantes Eggman (D-Stockton), Chair

###