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SUMMARY 
 

AB 865 would allow for family child care providers and 

centers to be reimbursed based on a family’s maximum 

certified hours of need and not based on attendance.  

Further, it would require the State make direct deposit of 

contractor allocations and greater use of electronic 

communications to best support the needs of families. 
 

BACKGROUND 
 

The Child Care and Development Services Act (CCDSA) 

provides a comprehensive, coordinated, and cost-effective 

system of child care and development services, for children 

from infancy to 13 years of age, and their parents, through 

full- and part-time programs. 

 

For 45 years, community based Alternative Payment 

Programs (APPs) have contracted with the California 

Department of Education (CDE), to provide one-on-one 

support and information to income eligible families on 

child care, nutrition, health care, housing and more. 

 

Prior to the pandemic, there were roughly 40,000 family 

child care provider businesses.  Since the pandemic, an 

estimated 5,500 family child care homes and 9,200 child 

care centers have closed in California.  
 

California’s child care and early learning system is carried 

mainly on the backs of low-income Black and Brown 

women who are struggling more than ever to make ends 

meet. Our subsidized child care system further harms the 

fiscal health of these family child care providers by only 

allowing for reimbursement when a family actually shows 

up.  It does not factor in that a family child care provider 

must hold the slot for a child regardless of whether the 

child is in attendance or not.  In the private sector, a 

payment for a child care slot is paid in full regardless of 

usage. 
 

During the pandemic, Governor Newsom signed an 

executive order enacted in SB 8201 that recognized family 

child care providers be reimbursed the amount on a child 

care certificate of an eligible family regardless of 

attendance. This allows family child care providers to 

more accurately plan and budget. 
 

 

                                                           
1 Bill Text - SB-820 Education finance. 

 

However, the language included in SB 820 will expire and 

needs immediate remedy. 

As of January 22, 2021, the average annual pay for a child 

care provider in the United States is $22,476 a year.  

“California ranks number 14 out of 50 states nationwide for 

Child Care Provider salaries.”  On average a child care 

provider in California makes $22,342 per year or (1%) less 

than the national average annual salary of $22,476.   

SOLUTION 

 

AB 865 will lessen the financial hardships imposed on 

California’s family child care providers.  Further, it will 

remove discrepancies on family child care providers that 

accept subsidized families and allow for parity with private 

pay providers.  The main highlights include: 

 

 Allow family child care providers to be reimbursed 

for the full amount of the certificated hours noted 

on a subsidized child care certificate and not on 

attendance. 

 Allow child care contractors, family child care 

providers and subsidized families the use of 

electronic means in order to best meet the needs of 

families.  

 Require direct deposit from the Controller to 

contractors.  During COVID, many contractors 

struggled with cash flow issues.  It would take 

weeks to share data with the Controller’s office for 

processing of checks, which in turn would take an 

addition one to three weeks for hard copy checks 

to be dropped in the mail.   

 

SUPPORT 

 California Alternative Payment Program 

Association (CAPPA) - Sponsor 

 

CONTACT 

Dawn Adler, Principle Assistant 

Office of Assemblywoman Quirk-Silva 

(916) 319-2065 

Dawn.adler@asm.ca.gov  
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