

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 20, 2023

Contacts: Robert Gammon, for Sen. Skinner Robert.Gammon@sen.ca.gov

Sulema Landa, for Asm. Aguiar-Curry, Sulema.Landa@asm.ca.gov

CA Legislative Women's Caucus Celebrates Women's History Month Honoring CA Women Making Herstory

SACRAMENTO – The California Legislative Women's Caucus (LWC) today will acknowledge March as Women's History Month, and celebrate California women from every legislative district for their 'herstory' making actions.

The Caucus's California Women Making Herstory floor ceremony will honor women selected by each member of the Assembly and Senate, as well as give special recognition to three recordbreakers: Dr. Sonya Christian, newly appointed permanent Chancellor of the California Community College system; Mayor Karen Bass, first woman elected Mayor of Los Angeles; and Secretary Shirley Weber, first African-American woman elected as California's Secretary of State.

The origins of Women's History Month can be traced to 1977 when the Sonoma County Commission on the Status of Women launched a Woman's History Week. The concept caught national attention, and in 1987 Congress officially declared March as Woman's History Month to recognize the accomplishments of women who have launched innovations in every sector and made significant improvements to every field of American life but whose stories have been often untold or buried.

Extending this theme, the Legislative Women's Caucus this year has branded its floor ceremony, "California Women Making Herstory," giving every member of the Legislature the opportunity to honor a 'herstory' maker from their District, as well as to recognize three recent women's herstory recordbreakers: Chancellor Christian, Mayor Bass and Secretary Weber.

Chancellor Christian is the first woman to be named a permanent Chancellor of California's statewide Community College system, which serving 1.7 million students, is the largest higher education system in the country. Mayor Bass, the first woman elected Mayor of Los Angeles, won her post by a 10% margin and received the highest number of votes of any mayoral candidate in LA history. Following her initial gubernatorial appointment, Dr. Shirley Weber was elected in November to a full term as California's first Black woman Secretary of State.

"The Legislative Women's Caucus is proud to be honoring women from throughout the state who are making substantial contributions to science, technology, commerce, arts, culture and civic life. We are also thrilled to recognize our three 'herstory' recordbreakers, Chancellor Christian, Mayor Bass and Secretary Weber, who are constant reminders that when women are in roles that allow them to fully utilize their skills and talents on our behalf, we all benefit." said LWC Chair, Senator Nancy Skinner, D-Berkeley.

"Today, in our Capitol building, we celebrate amazing women from each Assembly and Senate District who are working day in and day out to make their communities and our Golden State better. These women brought their own chair to the decision-making table and for that, we commend them. Their dedication and tenacity has inspired and changed our communities," said LWC Vice Chair, Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, D-Winters.

Today's Senate and Assembly floor sessions will commence with the reading and passage of Senate Resolution #2 and House Resolution #17, commemorating Women's History Month, and will be followed by each member accompanying their California Woman Making Herstory honoree on the floor of their respective chamber to receive a certificate of recognition.

A list of all the honorees by district follows:

- LWC Sonya Christian, Ph.D.
- SD 1 Marjeanne Stone
- SD 2 Abby Abinanti
- SD 3 Linda Cantey
- SD 4 Anamika S. Chand
- SD 5 Mana Shooshtari
- SD 6 Anne Marie Schubert
- SD 7 Janet Frazier
- SD 8 La Shelle Dozier
- SD 9 Lateefah Simon
- SD 10 Rona Popal
- SD 11 Mary Y. Jung
- SD 12 Lisa A. Smittcamp
- SD 13 Belinda Hernandez Arriaga, Ed.D., LCSW
- SD 14 Tamara Cobb
- SD 15 DeAnna Pursai
- SD 16 Lola G. Lerma
- SD 17 Celia Moses
- SD 18 Martha Zapata
- SD 19 Graciela Casillas
- SD 20 Maribel Garcia
- SD 21 N/A
- SD 22 Lizette Salas
- SD 23 Barbara Riordan
- SD 24 Maryam S. Zar
- SD 25 Mary J. Alvord
- SD 26 Evelina Fernández
- SD 27 Iliana Tavera
- SD 28 Karen Bass*
- SD 29 Kelly Vlahakis-Hanks
- SD 30 Mary Su
- SD 31 Yolanda Esquivel
- SD 32 Bridgette Moore
- SD 33 Lucia Veloz
- SD 34 Samantha Maria Soto
- SD 35 Karen Bass*
- SD 36 Mai Huvnh
- SD 37 Kate Wheeler
- SD 38 Jennifer Ianoale
- SD 39 Toluwalasé (Lasé) A. Ajayi, MD
- SD 40 Bari Landry Vaz

Lieutenant Governor: Ebony Ava Harper

- AD 1 Heather Hadwick
- AD 2 Jacque Williams
- AD 3 N/A
- AD 4 Ouirina Orozco
- AD 5 Laura Didier
- AD 6 Dr. Olivia Kasirye
- AD 7 Tanya Kravchuk
- AD 8 Naomi Tobias
- AD 9 Kathryn Siddle
- AD 10 Josefina "Josie" Patria
- AD 11 Regina Yin
- AD 12 Joanna Paun
- AD 13 Karen Rickman
- AD 14 Michelle Milam
- AD 15 Lori Sanson
- AD 16 Deanne Pearn
- AD 17 Jian Qing Zhang, DNP, MS, FNP-BC, NEA-BC, FAAN
- AD 18 Elaine Brown
- AD 19 Alicia Boccellari
- AD 20 Aisha Knowles
- AD 21 Gloria Rhodes Brown
- AD 22 Rosalinda Vierra
- AD 23 Dr. Belinda Hernandez Arriaga, EdD, LCSW
- AD 24 Connie De Grange
- AD 25 Tamara Mozahuani Alvarado
- AD 26 Anne Kepner
- AD 27 Stephanie Dietz
- AD 28 Rosemary Chalmers
- AD 29 Jennifer Laine
- AD 30 Francisca Arroyo Rosales
- AD 31 Genoveva Islas
- AD 32 Kelly Habroun
- AD 33 Honorable Connie Conway
- AD 34 Penny Shubnell
- AD 35 Esther Manzano
- AD 36 Janette Angulo
- AD 37 Terri Maus-Nisich
- AD 38 Lynn Edmonds
- AD 39 Dr. Aleka Jackson-Jarrell
- AD 40 Mary MacAdam
- AD 41 Dr. Devorah Lieberman
- AD 42 Amy Bernstein
- AD 43 Sonia Smith Kang
- AD 44 Jane Viar
- AD 45 Aisha Little
- AD 46 Nina Tassler
- AD 47 Dr. Andis Almasi
- AD 48 Jenica Morin-Pascual
- AD 49 Gay Q. Yuen, Ph.D.
- AD 50 Annette Chavez
- AD 51 Abbe Land
- AD 52 María Brenes

- AD 53 Diane Smyers
- AD 54 Connie Chung Joe, JD
- AD 55 Lillian Wilson
- AD 56 Grace Wang Caltabiano
- AD 57 Sade Elhawary
- AD 58 Priscilla Grijalva
- AD 59 Lina Tullberg
- AD 60 Lizbeth Magallanes
- AD 61 Ahmanise Sanati
- AD 62 Maria Mendoza
- AD 63 Gale Webb
- AD 64 Priscila Coronado
- AD 65 Supervisor Janice Hahn
- AD 66 Colonel Mia Walsh
- AD 67 JoAnna Schilling
- AD 68 Martha Rivera
- AD 69 Zoe Nicholson
- AD 70 Dr. Bhikkhuni Elizabeth Vo
- AD 71 Janette Chun
- AD 72 Noella Passarelli
- AD 73 Dr. Shaista Malik
- AD 74 Robbie Calderon Hass
- AD 75 Cynthia Elizondo
- AD 76 Arcela Nuñez-Alvarez
- AD 77 Carol Kim
- AD 78 Dr. Wilma J. Wooten
- AD 79 California Secretary of State Shirley N. Weber, Ph.D.*
- AD 80 Josephine S. Talamantez

^{*}Also a 2023 LWC Herstory Recordbreaker