

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 22, 2023

Contact: Karen Bocaling Lapis karen.bocaling@sen.ca.gov

Legislative Women's Caucus Leaders Laud Speaker Rivas's Assembly Committee and Leadership Appointments

SACRAMENTO – California Legislative Women's Caucus Chair Senator Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley) and Vice Chair Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D-Winters) applaud Assembly Speaker Robert Rivas for his committee and leadership appointments that represent a new record for the number of women serving as Chair of an Assembly Committee.

"We commend Speaker Rivas for his recent appointments. These appointments reach a new record for women serving as the Chair of an Assembly committee. It is proof that Speaker Rivas believes in entrusting and empowering women with positions of leadership, striving not just for representation but for parity. We celebrate the recognition of what these women bring to the table and are confident they are excellent choices to represent their communities and the people of California."

"With the most recent announcements, with 17 women Chairs the Assembly will now have more than half of the total number of standing committees chaired by women, as well as 2 women chairing budget subcommittees, and 3 women in leadership positions."

Congratulations to the following members of the Legislative Women's Caucus for their new appointments:

Assembly Member Buffy Wicks, Chair of the Assembly Appropriations Committee

Assemblymember Blanca Rubio, Chair of the Assembly Governmental Organization Committee

Assemblymember Mia Bonta, Chair of the Assembly Health Committee

Assemblymember Liz Ortega, Chair of the Assembly Labor and Employment Committee

Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan, Chair of the Assembly Privacy and Consumer Protection Committee

Assemblymember Blanca Pacheco, Chair of the Assembly Rules Committee

Assemblymember Lori Wilson, Chair of the Assembly Transportation Committee

Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris, Chair of the Assembly Utilities and Energy Committee

Assemblymember Diane Papan, Chair of the Assembly Water, Parks, and Wildlife Committee

Assemblymember Akilah Weber, Chair of the Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 1 on Health

Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva, Chair of the Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 5 on State Administration

Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, Assembly Majority Leader

Assemblymember Dawn Addis, Assembly Assistant Majority Leader on Policy and Research

Assemblymember Eloise Gomez Reyes, Assembly Assistant Majority Whip